Sundays at 9:30 a.m.
Sunday School 10:45 a.m.

118 East Mason Street
Lena, IL 61048


Good Shepherd Lutheran Council


Council Officers
Council President: Wayne K.
Vice-President: Coralyn H.
Secretary: Nick B.

Council Members, 2018
President: Dennis Luke
Vice President: Bari Raymer
Secretary: Darci Meier
Youth Representative: Krista Keene
Council Members: Troy Keene, Troy Doubler, Eugene Hesselbacher, Kristy Patterson, Don Wienand, Virgil Gordon, Pastor Miho

Meetings are held at 6:00 pm on the 2nd Tuesday of each month.
For more information on council activities call the church office at 1- 815-369-5552.

2015 Church Committees
If you are interested in joining one of the committees, contact the chair of the committee or Pastor Miranda. More help for mission, ministry, and leadership is always needed!

Standing Committees
Worship/Witness: Denny Luke-Chair, Karen Niemeier, Sue Diddens, Tena Rackow, Vivian Hesselbacher, Colton Brinker, Pastor Miranda (CR)

Stewardship: Chair-Open, Pastor Miranda, Shirley Fox, Jon Hudik

Learning/Youth: Chair-Open, Chris Brinker, Beth Martin Leesa Kurth, Sue Diddens, Michelle Andrews, Troy Keene, Marybeth Brinker,
Pastor Miranda

Service: Barnabas/Health & Wellness: Chair-Mary Lloyd, Co-Chair- Nick Baker, Karen Niemeier, Darlene Aurand, Ellen Kyles

Finance: Chair- Wayne Kurth, Chris Brinker, Marion Fahr,
Sharon Schlachter, Jay Andrews, Leland Wenzel, Troy Doubler

Property: Chair- Chris Brinker, Wayne Kurth , Ray Stamm,
Delbert Scheider, Leland Wenzel, Troy Doubler, Nick Baker, Jesse Klosterboer, Jerimy Schriner

Additional Committees/Task Teams/Organizations
taff Support./ Mutual Ministry: Tena Rackow, Gene Hesselbacher,
Sheila Keene, Pastor Miranda, Bill Engel, Sue Kraft, Leland Wenzel

Executive: Pres. Wayne Kurth, V.P.: Coralyn Hudik,
Secretary: Nick Baker

Scholarship: Mary Beth Brinker (Chair) Mike Geiseman,
Shirley Fox, Coralyn Hudik

Nomination: Mary Lloyd, Nick Baker and Michelle Andrews

Audit: Tena Rackow, Billie Jo Runkle

Memorial: Janis Kurth (Chair), Donna Gullickson, Lynn Lyvers

Building Trust Fund Board: Chair-Jay Andrews , Bill Engel,
Lynn Lyvers, Donna Gullickson, Ellen Kyles

Website: Chair-Troy Doubler, (CR) Brianna Andrews, Dan Kurth,
Colton Brinker, Austin Andrews, Taylor Bastian

Women of the ELCA: Joyce Tessendorf, Sheila Keene

Men's Ministry: Troy Doubler, Wayne Kurth, Jesse Klosterboer

Complete copy of council minutes can be found on the bulletin board.

Council Minute Highlights: April, 2019
Jay Andrews presented the March Treasurer’s Report which included the gas bill of $817.62 and electric bill of $204.16. K. Patterson made the motion to approve and Don Wienand made the second. All agreed.

B. Raymer moved to pay the first installment of the Lena Food Pantry building rent drawing $600 from the Lucille Baker Endowment Fund. C. Hudik made the second and Council fully approved. Good Shepherd’s yearly commitment is $1200.

Pastor Miho gave her monthly report which included Holy Week schedules. She also reflected on how personal invitations have made a difference in welcoming others to the church.

Pastor highlighted the recent Hymn Sing at Lena Living Center which was well-attended, plus future May events including Devotion and Desserts at the Friendship Center May 16; Teacher Recognition Sunday May 19; Sunday service at Lena Living Center May 19 and the Youth OWL Night May 31 – June 1. C. Hudik made the motion to approve Pastor’s Report and K. Patterson made the second. Council agreed.

C. Hudik, on behalf of the Stewardship Committee, said the group has been discussing “Reflection on a “Spiritual Timeline” in addition to its regular activities.

K. Patterson, Learning Committee, spoke on several topics. She advised the recent Youth Sunday was well-received; noted Confirmation Class has begun; said youth will be involved in Easter breakfast preparation and serving the meal; and advised the next meeting for Vacation Bible School is set for May 7. The event will once again include three local churches.

Pastor mentioned the Mobile Food Pantry will be at the Lena pantry April 23 and Good Shepherd is scheduled to volunteer at the pantry the fourth Saturday of the month.

Denny Luke said the Property Committee met with Steve Buss to discuss installation of the sound system. Work will not begin until after Easter so the sanctuary is not disrupted during the season. Volunteers will be asked to help evenings when work begins. Luke also said a new eternal light has been received as part of the memorials already received. It will be installed in the near future.

Tim Gordon suggested the committee look into replacement of the curb in the front of the church with potential addition to the memorial list. He was asked to gather bids.

D. Luke said applications for college scholarships are due by the end of April. Applications will be reviewed and will need approval from the Council.

T. Gordon said he continues to work on Facebook entries and has expanded posts to include area wide concerns and events.

D. Luke said the first Confirmation Reunion Sunday with returning Pastor David Raben was well-received. Five confirmands under Raben’s tenure plus other friends and families attended the service. Luke said he also spoke with Pastor Raben who said he enjoyed greeting friends of Good Shepherd at the church again.

T. Gordon, Men’s Ministry, said the group recently had a work day at the home of a parishioner and reorganized the boiler room.

K. Patterson moved to accept the committee reports and T. Gordon made the second. Council fully approved.

In other business, Council learned a male delegate is still needed for the Northern Illinois Synod Assembly in June. Council unanimously approved a motion by K. Patterson to allow Rock River Blood Drive to use the Fellowship hall for a blood drive at a future date. The second was made by C. Hudik.

In future business, Council learned more worship volunteers are needed and discussion is continuing on obtaining armed chairs for fellowship hall.

K. Patterson discussed a pilot program that is being offered by Mitek, Winslow, to provide matching funds for a select number of local groups. Good Shepherd Youth Group has been accepted for the spring program which will span three months, April, May and June. Under the program Mitek will match up to $1,000 in funds raised by the group. C. Hudik made a motion to accept this proposal and B. Raymer seconded. Council fully approved. Patterson said donations collected for the Easter breakfast can be applied toward this amount.

Motion to adjourn was made by K. Patterson with second by B. Raymer. All approved and the meeting closed with the recital of The Lord’s Prayer.

Respectfully submitted,
Darci Meier, Secretary

A complete copy of minutes will be posted on the bulletin board

© 2013 Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, ELCA, Lena, IL
A Congregation of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Site designed and maintained by Christine Anderson
Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Lena, IL